Teddy Towncrier's Web Oasis.

July 17, 2008

Multi-Tasking is a fallacy and a waste of your precious time.

Filed under: Uncategorized — teddytowncrier @ 11:19 am


When I’ve project that has to be done ….. Everything else gets put on hold.

The phone and Instant messaging go on hold and my focus is solely on the project on hand.

Even though my intimates know how to reach me; They know better than to call and start the conversation with “How are you”? and I don’t hesitate to type a quick ‘busy … later’ into an IM box.

If they really need me; They say so, we put the issue to bed and I’m back at it.

Switching between tasks is called ‘broken time” and can take me as much as five minutes to return to speed. Allowing three or four intrusions can quickly scramble my focus. How about you?

Dr. John Medina, author of “Brain Rules,” gives us some fascinating insights into how and why our brain works and why the 3PM nap is such a powerful boost to productivity.

…. and ….. Would it kill ya to comment?


Enjoy.


Teddy Towncrier CPP Towncrier-Media.com Supercharging Your Visions.


    

Speak with me here    
Click Here for My Twitter

2 Comments »

  1. I agree completely.

    Being pulled from pillar to post is my biggest challenge day-to-day.

    Luckily I have manage (it’s a woman thing – we can all do 10 things at once – probably because we have to learn from a young age how to deal with you men).

    I find that during the day; it’s important to have a pad next to me at all times; everytime the phone rings, or Bradley (our business founder) says ‘Oh Heids, can you….’, or a sales guy says ‘Oh Heids, what’s my commission? What have I generated? Can I discount for this client, Have you spoken to ….’ etc etc, or our Web Development Director says…..’Heids,..’ ………………….anyway I think you get the point. Each time I answer immediately (if simple) or merely write the query down on my list and return to the job in hand. Never over-think. Listen, write, do but do not think. Keep your mind on your current tasks – the others can be considered later.

    It seems very simple but it ensure’s that everything is dealt with, everybody’s happy and it’s great satisfaction to cross the jobs off the list at the end of the day.

    It also means that prioritising is easier.

    Comment by Heidi — July 17, 2008 @ 3:27 pm | Reply

  2. Hey Heidi! Want to reclaim an hour each day?

    1. Switch offices, remove name from door and keep door locked.

    2. Make staffers use Instant Messaging. (Answer on your timetable).

    3. Won’t learn IM? Let voicemail take it. Answer on your timetable.

    Tough medicine but I need to control my time or they’ll steal it away with “Just need a minute’s”.

    Most of us get a couple of hundred communications each day and half a minute wasted on each can sure add up.

    Ted.

    Comment by teddytowncrier — July 17, 2008 @ 6:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.